QUESTION 2: How effective is the contribution of your main product and ancillary texts?

Through the production of my 3 media texts (Music video, Digipak and magazine advert) I have used commodification (where the artist/music becomes a product and needs to be sold) and synergy (using cross-media convergence to ultimately sell the product). These factors have played a part in linking all of my products together giving them a consistent theme; making them look like a package and they have identified the bands branding.

As my band has a logo we can appear to be more professional to the consumer or audience. In my research into logo’s I found that a good logo has to have these aspects:

–       Simple

–       Memorable

–       Timeless

–       Versatile

–       Appropriate

Simple:

If the design for the logo is simple it allows the consumer to recognize it, which ultimately covers the second point as it becomes memorable.

While in college in the mid-70’s an instructor introduced me to the K.I.S.S. Principle of design; which translates to: Keep It Simple, Stupid. It does convey a very important design consideration. Simple logos are often easily recognized, incredibly memorable and the most effective in conveying the requirements of the client. A refined and distilled identity will also catch the attention of a viewer zipping by signage at 70 miles per hour, on packaging on the crowded shelves of a store, or in any other vehicle used for advertising, marketing and promotion. Remember, the basis of the hugely effective international branding for the world’s largest shoe manufacturer is a very simple graphic swoosh. – Jeff Fisher

(Quote found from: http://justcreative.com/2009/07/27/what-makes-a-good-logo/)

Memorable:

This works very closely with being simple. If it is simple, it is recognizable; if it is recognizable; it is memorable.

An example of this would be the ‘McDonalds’ logo – which has always been of the golden, high arched ‘M’. Anywhere in the world you see this specific type of ‘M’ you will know what brand it is.

mcdonalds_logo-2006-present

Timeless:

For a logo to be effective it needs to be timeless, and to make it appeal the same now as it could in 20+ years.

The best example of a timeless logo would be the ‘Coca-Cola’ design in comparison to one of its main competitors: ‘Pepsi’ which is shown on this table below.

Screen Shot 2014-05-07 at 09.24.42

 

(Research found from: http://justcreative.com/2009/07/27/what-makes-a-good-logo/)

Versatile:

For the logo to be versatile it should be designed in the vector format, meaning that it can be resized and rescaled to any size and be able to work horizontally and vertically.

Appropriate:

It should appeal to its target audience, if the logo is designed for a toy company, the font should be bright and bold, in comparison if you were creating a logo for a car logo, it would need to slick and sharp. You have to make it work in the circumstance in which you are working.

Awesome+Pictures+of+Audi+logo (1)

I believe that my product actually fits 4/5 of these aspects, the problem with it is the versatility as it is on a landscape placement and wouldn’t be able to moved and around and changed positioning effectively. I think it looks is simple yet eye catching, and also memorable.

The image on the cover of my Digipak, was an image of playing cards, and poker chips, that I had filmed when we filmed the poker segment – this shows my first use of continuality. I realized very late on that my main image of the ace of spades card was actually upside down.

Screen Shot 2014-05-03 at 14.31.16

I used the logo of the band – which had already been designed – and the title of the album/song underneath in the same style. As a continuous theme, I created the other ancillary task (magazine advert) in the same style, using the same fonts, same color theme, and same main image. I should however have continued this into my music video to add a synergy and give a continuous feel to my three products – but I felt I didn’t want to add titles into the song, as I found it to be unnecessary.

Screen Shot 2014-05-03 at 17.47.22

The problem I had with my music video was that the narrative of the protagonist was shot during the days – and on bright days – I think that to give it the same feel as the other two tasks, it would have been more beneficial to shoot these segments at night, so they are darker and to adjust the contrast and recoloring to give it the same feel as the other two tasks. I do believe they are linked but I think I could have emphasized this factor.

I feel like all 3 products are continually linked, as they all have the same feel to them, and you can immediately identify that they are linked together and work as a package.

Leave a Reply

