QUESTION 4: How did you use media technologies in the construction and research, planning and evaluation stages?

I will start from the beginning of my project, and analyse how media technologies have helped in the construction of my work. I began working on all of my research, which was put together onto my blog. I used the blogging website: WordPress (the website/blog you are on now). WordPress allowed me to put all of my information and work in one place, allowing me to categorize the pieces, as well as allowing me to go back and edit it any time I wanted to. It works almost as a diary of everything I have learnt leading up to the final production. I will be going into each stage of my project and what media technologies have been used.

Research 

I then began the initial research into music videos to give myself an insight into the background. Without the use of the Internet this would not have been possible. I began with the history of Music videos. I started this process by having a conversation with a Media Teacher replacement we had at our school for a month or so this year, and he used YouTube and introduced me to Max Fleischer. He also showed me his YouTube channel page where he showed me the work he had done making independent music videos. This was very influential to me, as it gave me an insight into what I could make with a low budget.

I used Wikipedia, and Google to find the information that I used throughout the first few initial stages. Wikipedia provides a basic overview of what I was looking into to, but cannot be entirely reliable as it can be changed anonymously and cannot truly trust everything on there. I would then use Google to find external sources of information on the topic I have searched for on the posts on the blog I have mentioned where I found my research. I would then be able to cross-reference the information on Wikipedia, to justify whether the info was in fact correct. Another website I used frequently was: Slideshare. This again could be reliable but it was put into basic understandable terms.

Wikipedia-logo-en-bigGoogle Logo 2010

The second media institute I used was Music channels on Television; this allowed me to categorize the channels. I also researched into the viewing figures of these channels.

7330-LG5000

Kerrang-Ident-Still-470x264

mtv-dance2

YouTube was the vital library that I needed for my research as it allowed me to have a vast variety of music videos at my disposal. This was important to allow me to gain inspiration for my music videos from narrative, to editing. I was able to use them to analyse different genres of music videos, and to get an insight into the conventions.

YouTube-logo-full_color

I used the survey website – www.surveymonkey.com to conduct research on the viewing habits of music videos, and what they would expect as well as asking what they would recommend what they would like to see. I used Microsoft Word and Microsoft Excel to gather my results together and put them into graphs and charts so my information was easier to process. Without doing this – I would not have found out what people would expect to see and what they would like – it was extremely beneficial when it came to the production of my own work.

surveymonkey2-1024x530

Pre-Production

As I had conducted all of my research in the research phase of my project, I began working on pre-production. This began with drafting out ideas and creating a mind map on Microsoft word. As I was making a video for my own composition, I also had to write the lyrics to the song. I drafted out video ideas in a mind map form on Microsoft Word, until I finally hit a narrative and a theme for the song and the music video.

4644298528_a504685832_m

We as a band then had a few rehearsal sessions, expanding the songs (as we were practicing for our tour at the time). We decided that we would record the song roughly in one of our practice sessions. We did this using Logic Pro 9 – which is music software on iMacs.

logic-pro-icon

Once the lyrics and the narrative were set, I decided I would type the lyrics up and print them of and annotate, using ideas which I could implement into my video. I then scanned the images back onto my computer. I did this simply with my home printer, I placed the paper under the tray at the top of the printer and chose the scan onto computer option. I then drew out shot listings and storyboarding – this was also scanned onto the computer using the same method.

31Bm8wBnYqL

Production

 

Camera stuff

 

I again used Microsoft word to conduct a shooting plan, and to update it as I filmed each segment. This helped me stay on track, and to cover everything I needed to fit into the video. I would use my printer on the day of filming and print out the shooting plan for that section and take it with me to the shoot, I would use it and then act in the moment and film bits I thought I could add in or things that could work. There is an updated document after each day of filming.

Post-Production

The computer I used for the majority of my work throughout this course was my iMac that I have at home. This was apart from a few occasions when I did my work on another iMac at school or using Photoshop on the Windows computers at school.

apple-imac-2012-both-big

I do not have the use of any editing software on my iMac apart from iMovie. I found this to be relatively complicated to use, and in an ideal world would have liked to use another ediitng software but was not able to. This technology was essential in the creation of my project.

Retina-New-iMovie-Logo

I used the survey website – www.surveymonkey.com again to conduct research on what people thought of my music video – this is explained thoroughly in Question 3. Surverymonkey changed their website since I had previously used it and allowed the user to have all the data collected in graph form – this was very useful.

As well as using the Questionnaire on Surverymonkey, I held 3 small focus groups where I gained some feedback from students at my school. The firs two videos were not very insightful or give good feedback, but I found that the third was very beneficial. Again this is gone into in more detail on Question 3. I also used the social networking sites Facebook and Twitter.

The drafts of my music videos were uploaded on my iMac onto YouTube, this was very beneficial as people were able to view it and see the progression between the edits.

This is the link to my YouTube page:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCDsnq9M5-Z3TfMxP6GuVjLw

Ancillary

For my initial research into Digipaks my first port of call, was to use the albums that I had previously owned, and I also used Google Images to gather these album cover images. As for the information – this was found on a range of websites. I again sued Wikipedia and cross-referenced it with other information found from reliable sources. I managed to find an article on the New York Times website which I quoted in my research.

New-York-Times-Logo

My magazine advert research started by using and looking through music magazines that I had at home, these being: “Kerrang!” “Rocksound” and “Total Guitar”. I looked through these magazines and I found how albums were promoted through print. For the adverts that I liked and found, I took a picture of them using my iPhone and uploaded them to my iMac, this was very simple, all I had to do was plug the phone into the back of the computer via the USB/charging cable and once connected iPhoto would open on my mac and I was able to choose what images I wanted to import. I then printed out 4 of these adverts and did a basic hand drawn annotation into the basic conventions of a magazine advert. Once these were finished I uploaded them back into the computer, and these are what can be found on my blog under my magazine advert analysis section.

gsmarena_001

klerrang

tg-logo

REDRAWNLOGOTORONTO

I did an extensive and thorough analyse of one of the magazine adverts, I did this using Microsoft Word, where I was able to use the shapes feature to add text boxes and lines pointing to what each segment was. Throughout this analysis I used an article I had found on Alt Press, which was a breakdown and explanation into band merchandising and funding – this was very beneficial in emphasizing the point of this being a business product.

tumblr_static_altpress

I began with the creation of my Digipak first. As I had aforementioned this would go hand in hand with my artwork. I displayed two images that were created with the intention of using it for my artwork. These were done on Photoshop (on a windows computer at school), Microsoft Word and by hand. I then took pictures of them using my iPhone. The main image of my Digipak stemmed from a shot I had filmed for the music video, I used the screen shot feature on an iMac to capture this as an image. I researched on Google the dimensions of an album cover, and was able to adjust the page sizing on Microsoft word to create the Digipak cover. I would have liked to continue my work on Photoshop but unfortunately do not have the privilege of this software on my home iMac (where I did almost every bit of my work). I became extremely efficient in using Microsoft Word and found it could be very useful.

cs2

Once the complete album cover was designed I decided to use this in my iTunes library, or on my iPod to show how my album cover would like in comparison to an existing product.

ITunes_11_LogoScreen Shot 2014-05-17 at 17.15.55

As I have shown in the creation of my magazine advert creation, I played around with a range of ideas using Microsoft Word again. Once this was done, I took a picture of already existing album adverts in Kerrang with my iPhone and uploaded them to my iMac (using the same process as before) I then copied them into Microsoft Word and placed my advert over the top of them.

611rsfQE5HL._SL1500_

Leave a Reply

